Adam's Images

By ajt

Solent sky

Another busy day. I started after breakfast by misreading the very confusing bus time table and going into town an hour later than planned. I went to Waitrose to get some caffeine free tea as it's not available in France and their spicy pickled onions that I love and no one else does. After eating my lunch in the sun I went into the main shopping centre and had a look around, picking up some wool socks (not very common anywhere) and a puzzle book for my wife. The Argos in town has closed and now there is just a pick-up point at Sainsbury's and the item I had ordered wasn't in stock yet so I couldn't pick it up.

I went back to my friends' by bus (having read the time table correctly this time) and after packing I had some tea and a chat before returning to Basingstoke for my train. I bought my tickets at the station and then went back to the Sainsbury's to collect my FreeSat box. The ETA in store was 4pm and my prefered train left at 4:05, so as long as the delivery wasn't delayed and I had my tickets already it would be fine. In the end, the delivery was early, so I picked it up without a problem and was on the platform in plenty of time for my train to Portsmouth.

The train journey was mostly uneventful, but as we got closer to Portsmouth I noticed a lot of people on the platforms that weren't boarding any trains and lots of people with cameras. I correctly assumed that a steam hauled train must be due, and as we approached Portsmouth the guard announced that we would be passing the Flying Scotsman, which I managed an awful picture of (not loaded here due to too much reflection from the window).

I arrived in Portsmouth in plenty of time, and walked towards the ferry port picking up a few more things from the supermarket (note to self Sainsbury's has now closed - so remember to go to Morrison's) - and ate my ice-cream before it melted in the sweltering heat.

At the ferry port I spent an eternity waiting before boarding my ferry for my return home to France. Brittany ferries said to arrive at least one hour before the scheduled departure time but failed to point out that for foot passengers embarcation only opens at one hour before departure...

Today's back blips are all from the Bretagne. The main picture is looking out across the solent and shows some little boats and there is also an extra which is a bit longer in focal length. There is another image if HMS Queen Elizabeth and finally there is a view of the Spinnaker tower at dusk.

My first visit to the UK since COVID is now over, and tomorrow I'll be back in France - but with a FreeSat box to play with and a decent supply of tea...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.