pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Planting with my helper!

Today took an unexpected turn at 10.30am, when our power went off! After a message to a couple of work friends, it turned out that there were planned works in our road, affecting 26 houses, and the power wouldn't be back until possibly 3.30pm. We had no choice but to pack up, and drive in to Norwich. I managed an afternoon at County Hall, and on the way home dropped in at Hobbycraft to buy some elastic.

I got home at 7ish. Roadworks on various Norwich roads delayed me, but dinner was ready. Then I shot up the allotment to plant my purple sprouting broccoli. Ryan my allotment neighbour was busy on his plot. He has a very close friendship with Bessie, but she spent this evening with me. How honoured was I! Not very helpful, as I was trying to plant the broccoli she was scratching around. I put as many old cola bottles over the tiny plants that I could find. It's a rough and ready plot. No straight lines, and still lots of weeds, but I'll go back tomorrow and finish. I still have about 5 to plant. But I wanted to be home by 9 for Long Lost Family, so headed home at 5 to.

Jon made me a cuppa and now enjoying LLF. Happy and sad all at once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.