Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Just call me weird!

Or crazy old lady! For walking two miles in pouring rain. Well, not all of it was pouring just the last mile and a half. It was not raining when I started out. A spur of the moment decision to check out a bird sanctuary that is near the Savannah River since I was in the area for another errand. Plus it was a very pleasantly cool morning which has not happened it a while. I might have miscalculated the timing of the rain arrival.

I needed a walk in the woods. Forest bathing at its finest. Water supplied by Mother Nature. Perfect therapy.


It was worth being soaked, sloshing through standing water up to my calves. My umbrella and cap kept my hair dry but the was the only thing not wet. It rained sideways at one point. But I never got cold.

Waterproof shoes don’t work when water is over the top of the shoes! Just saying! You can see in the middle photo how much water on the trail… there is a trail there! It is not a creek!

No bugs and no snakes but also no birds. They must have all known what was coming.

Dog towel in the car for drying off ( yeah, it was clean!) and I always have extra shoes in the car. Which was a great thing today. It may take a week for my hiking shoes to dry.

I went by the store for my errand in my partially dried clothes. Wet underwear is not my favorite thing.

I probably would do this again except I would grab a rain jacket to keep the clothes dry!

A great Monday adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.