Flossmo

By Flossmo

Many stories

Backblip for yesterday.

It was a busy, busy, busy day. Sometimes not much happens and other times there are so many stories to choose from it's hard to know where to start. Yesterday was the latter.

First thing I drove over to Fleet for a volunteering meeting. Fleet regularly comes up in polls of best places to live in the UK and it is, indeed, a pleasant little town. But that, apparently, doesn't stop it having its resident vandals. In my short walk around I saw three shops with their windows broken (see extra). What is wrong with people? At least the wonderful bench in the library, made to celebrate the late Queen's Platinum Jubilee,  brought a smile to my face.  

Back home Mr Flossmo and I jumped in the car and drove down to Lee-on-Solent or more correctly Lee-on-the-Solent as we discovered it should be called. Our friend who was 80 a few weeks ago was due to have a Spitfire flight as a belated birthday treat and we decided it would be fun to watch. We had lunch in the airfield cafe and watched as the two Spitfire flights before our friend's took off amid much engine noise. As there was a third flight to go before our friend's, we drove the short distance to the beach and I got down to some combing (see extra for view towards Southampton). Suddenly there was an enormous roar and the third flight passed right above our heads. It was an amazing sight to see the Spitfire in plan view.

After picking up a few 'treasures' on the beach we drove back in time to watch John come our in his green overalls and climb into the back seat,  a wide smile on his face. We watched the take off and then jumped back in the car to drive home as I had another volunteering meeting at 6 o'clock.

Just as we came into Farnham we saw the most astonishing sight - someone riding a seatless, powered unicycle (see extra). It was a first for us - we were agog. It certainly packed a punch in terms of speed. I see from Google that their legality on UK roads is a grey area. I don't think I will be rushing out to get one any time soon.

I managed a quick cup of tea before logging into my Zoom meeting. By the time the meeting was done so was I.
   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.