Flossmo

By Flossmo

Make Do and Mend

I bought this pamphlet at the Royal Welsh Museum last week as a memento and a little contribution to their running costs. It makes interesting reading. I doubt I will ever make my own knickers from worn out grey flannel trousers or indeed hand wash my corsets with care. But it did get me thinking about how careless we all are with our clothes and how easily we discard anything with the smallest blemish. And so it was, when Mr Flossmo declared a pair of trousers as 'only fit for the bin', I decided to investigate. I discovered they were only missing two waist buttons and had a hem that had unravelled and then frayed. 

I got out my mending kit. I found two suitable buttons, sewed them on, repaired the hem and oversewed the frayed section. Voila, a usable pair of trousers once more. Certainly wearable around the house and garden if not quite good enough for 'events'. I felt quite proud of myself.   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.