The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Surface pattern and textile

Stroud has a new monthly Sunday market which is rather more international and socially diverse/democratic than the Farmers' Market. Today there were stalls representing a variety of small businesses, all fairly local. The central area in the middle of the Cornhill market has been made available as an eating/drinking/social area, which is a wonderful idea in sunshine. I bought smoked cheese, chilli mustard, photographic cards showing abstacts of knitting machines sold by our ex-MP's wife, gluten-free muffins, books for CleanSteve and, yes, a handbag. Which obviously, I really needed!

That has to be one of my more expensive blips. But I loved the Kashmiri crewel work, especially the woollen rugs which the stallholder has persuaded his family in Kashmir to start making again, after a 40-year lull in production. We had two of them in the room I shared with my younger sister in Ireland, about 45 years ago...

I couldn't buy one today, as they were too large, so I bought a handbag instead. It's suede with a lotus flower embroidered on it (bottom right of the collage). I admired the elephant-shaped tea cosy and the cushion cover, too, but managed not to buy them. I have lost the seller's card, but if I find it, I'll put up a link to his website. He says it's not quite up and running yet, but he sells his wares in Cirencester's Corn Hall market four days a week.

The rest of the day was devoted to exploring the canal (final barrier still in place) and the serious pursuit of lying in a hammock reading, or listening to Jamaica Inn. Might as well enjoy summer while it's here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.