The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Water under the viaduct

The canal towpath is now open all the way from my nearest junction to the bottom of town! I walked this way to work today: first day back. Many of the children seemed quite confused at being back at school. A couple of massages at home later, I was finished for the day. But we'd decided between us to do about four loads of washing, so there's no such thing as 'finished', not yet...

The sun shone on the new path, which was built on top of an old rubbish tip that the council had sited there in the 70s. For this reason, the path is very high. The canal has been rerouted through one of the arches of the viaduct that carries the Great Western Railway to London. The river Frome also passes close by, and its banks are a designated nature reserve. I met a couple of walkers, and was startled by a Staffie who had slipped his lead, but otherwise the path was quiet. Arriving in town at Merrywalks/A46 was a bit of an assault on the senses: noise, fumes, and vehicles surprised me more than usual, after my trip through the green corridor.

Restoration story here

CleanSteve went down later, and got a much more interesting shot!
Good news:a kind old lady has donated an electronic keyboard to replace the one that one of my charges is slowly destroying by over-use at playtime. I've been looking for months, so this is progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.