The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Roads of green and gold

Bit of a late blip tonight, as I went out for supper. After work I came home and actually snoozed in the cabin, then the hammock, before setting off for the village of Whiteshill, to the north west of Stroud. I left too late for the bus, so I walked the length of the park, pausing to admire the E II R 1953 wrought-iron gates, obviously put there for the Queen's coronation. I think today is the anniversary.

Opposite the postal depot at Salmon springs, the footpath (once the main road) veers upwards across the fields to Callowell farm, past Callowell cottages, and splits in three directions. I went across further fields to the back of Whiteshill church, with its ancient-looking graveyard, then down the main road to The Old School, where I was to dine. We even managed to eat al fresco, and stayed out till about 9.30, when the midges got too annoying!

This photo is taken looking at the back of the row of houses that overlook the A46 at Salmon Springs. The area behind Salmon Springs, with the rape fields, is known as Wick Street, though it can't really be one street! I saw an adorable calf in the fields, but my camera frightened him, so I could not get a really focussed shot of him/her skipping among the buttercups. It was the perfect evening for a walk, through fields of green and gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.