Look Out

By chrisf

Hope

It’s hospital day again, and a long one.

I’ve a notion to visit each of the north west of England’s eight cathedrals over coming months. Not sure how, but I made a start with Chester last week, and today as it only involved a 30 minute drive it was Liverpool’s turn.

It half worked, but I’ll need to come again. I wasn’t allowed in the Anglican cathedral as Liverpool John Moores University was having its graduation ceremonies there this morning and early afternoon. So I walked up the very straight (and rather wonderful) Hope Street that connects it to the Metropolitan (Catholic) cathedral. I was allowed in there, but before I went in I was told I might find it a bit noisy. I entered to the main theme from Chariots of Fire, being rehearsed by a school orchestra. Plenty of other children in school uniforms around, it’s rehearsal time before a big schools prize giving event this afternoon.

Everywhere there were young graduates wearing gowns and mortar boards, and proud parents dressed up to the nines. Lots of photo shoots going on. I probably looked a real scruff in their midst.

The main blip is a view from the top of the steps of the Metropolitan cathedral looking straight up Hope Street to the Anglican cathedral on St James’s Mount. The extras feature the two cathedrals, graduates, parents and friends, and ice cream vans. It was that kind of day.

All bookended by time at the hospital. We’re always glad to get home at the end of the day.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.