TrishaR

By TrishaR

Lovely Legs!

Backblip
Very early start but speedy journey to Edinburgh airport for a quick flight over to Frankfurt! 1.5 hours and then bus into Frankfurt main railway station. As Gillian's plane was cancelled on Friday she was getting a later one to me from Aberdeen to the main airport in F'furt, me flying to the cheap flights airport an hour away!! My bus dropped me off at the main railways station where I thought we were to meet but I wasn't sure as she had written meet at the Hauptbahnhof at 4pm the day before and I hadn't thought to query at the time i got it if it was the bus station or train station... Well that would have been ok, just send a text on arrival to query but my phone wasn't working abroad!!! I went to a hot spot in the station with my iPad but the instructions on the wifi thingy were in German so had no idea what to do there. So that was abandoned. I saw the tourist info and they told me there were pink telephones I could use with euros in the station, but I failed with that too as I had no idea what code to use and it kept giving me a drone ........ Not connecting:(. Time was marching on and I wasn't sure I even got the right place so I showed a German man her text with the Hauptbahnhof word and he confirmed it said rail station - could she not have written rail I said to the guy!! He agreed, all the rest is in English he says!!

So back I went to the tourist info place to ask them what I should dial and she mentioned +44 as it was a UK phone. I asked her if there was a plus sign on the pay phone and she then suggested she dial it for me from there.... So at last I was connected to Gillian and we eventually met..... I must stay though that Frankfurt station is VERY clean, organised into all the lines into one long area with lots of police patrolling. And they have the BEST cakes. I consoled myself with a massive one with an unpronounceable name with icing on the top.

So on to the flat where I have a whole floor to myself - its lovely with a massive bathroom.

We got all dolled up and went to a fabulous French restaurant for a meal where we were served by the craziest waiter I have ever met . The tears were running down my face with laughter with his antics. He was a cross between Manuel and road runner..... And his name was Cyril.. Tiny little guy, fancied Fritz, called him Hot Chocolate.. We were supposed to go to a jazz club afterwards but I just couldn't keep my eyes open. I think I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow

laura, I know you will roll your eyes and laugh at your mum being so daft with the phone carry on but you know I am NOT technical;). Missing you all and don't let Ben throw all the treats to Breagha in the first day!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.