TrishaR

By TrishaR

Prost!

Frankfurt day 2
The flat is 2 miles from Frankfurt town centre so Gillian and I walked there is morning, through a park that was swarming with joggers! What I notice is that the city is very pretty with avenues of trees all the way into town with beautiful Italian style buildings with little ornate balconies covered in pots of flowers. It seems very affluent. The road system is what you would expect of the Germans - there is even proper bike lanes ALL the way from the city centre. And no-one wears helmets as its a proper lane, like a bus lane at home.

There is nothing better when on holiday that to wander around the city squares in the sunshine , checking out a suitable place to sit , chat, eat and people watch. We found a spot in one of the squares that was a hive of activity, loads of people coming and going, tourists and locals alike:)

This elderly lady intrigued us both. She was on her own, decked out in her pearls and sat with her glass of wine watching the world go by. Sometimes though, she would have a far away look in her eye and I wondered what she was thinking about.
She had a big smile on her face though when the waiter was pulling my leg when he saw my big lens on that I was the paparazzi ! He grabbed a Japanese girl and told her to smile for me as I was the paparazzi - so she did:).

Last night we ate at a swanky French place but this evening it was a place that Fritz called the Chicken Shack. Ooooooooooh the flavour!!! I can honestly say its the best chicken I have ever tasted, I even ate the skin it was so crispy, of course with my fingers! Dare I say that I enjoyed it better than the posh French place:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.