Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

My walk

I really saw very little bird, insect or animal life in the reserve on my early walk, so I thought I'd post an overview of what I did see in the form of a collage.  First there's the lovely thrush who lives very near the entrance gate, top right is Orange Balsam (Impatiens capensis) and below is Red Valerian (Centranthus ruber).  

The park was full of a set-up for the 'Foodie Festival' so I had to walk to the reserve the long way.  It will be there all weekend.  I wonder if that's why the reserve was so quiet.  All I heard was the whiffling of the sedge warblers in the reeds, a loud burst from a Cetti's warbler, a wren and of course a moorhen.  It didn't seem like much.  Perhaps, parent duties largely over for the year, creatures are off on their hols.  And who could blame them.

Apart from my walk, I've had a peaceful if less than exciting day working on such treats as de-scaling the shower head - oh, and walking Hazel.  I've also counted a nice handful of butterflies in my garden.

Enjoy your evening, folks, and your tomorrow  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.