Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Fancy ladies

This afternoon I had occasion to go through a box of my grandfather's sheet music, most of it 100 or more years old. He sang in vaudeville and on the radio and was a composer (of little note). It's fun to look through this old music once in a while and imagine him singing some of these dated songs. The lyrics often make me shudder, such as these from Glad Rag Doll (c 1929):

They call you Glad Rag Doll, admired, desired by lovers who soon grow tired,
Poor little Glad Rag Doll
You're just a pretty toy they like to play with
You're not the kind they choose to grow old and gray with
Don't make this end, dear, it's never too late to mend, dear
Poor little Glad Rag Doll
.

Or I'd Love to Live in Loveland, ca. 1910 (not pictured), an overly optimistic little ditty:

I'd love to live in Loveland with a girl like you
And every day a holiday
(musings, take note!) with skies of baby blue
Where roses bloom forever and sweethearts are always true
I'd love to live in Loveland with a girl like you


I like to think we've come a long way with song lyrics and such -- but we do still have a ways to go.

Day two of Adverbs and Adjectives - "fancy."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.