David J. Rose

By djrose007

Wet and JAM Anniversary

The planned ride out went ahead today with three of us. Met up at a Tesco garage in Stroud at 8:30 and then a very nice, dry, ride to the AV8 cafe/restaurant at Cotswold Airport, formerly home of the Red Arrows RAF Kemble.
We all enjoyed a breakfast, I had very nice poached eggs on toast and grilled tomatoes, delicious and only a £fiver including coffee.
We set off to go back to Gloucester, and the Jet Age Museum (JAM) which was holding an event for it's 10th anniversary since the official opening. The sun was shining and life was good.
This section, of the ride, was when we encountered our first TORRENTIAL downpour. It was pretty horrendous and my waterproof lining was rolled up in the bag on the bottom of my bike jacket - it's handy but not when you are actually riding! So got soaked to the skin on that stretch.
Arrived at the JAM in lovely sunshine again and managed to dry out over the couple of hours we were there. Had a tour of the Vulcan cockpit and the Trident interior.
We split up and went our different ways but as I was putting my helmet on I noticed that, in the direction I would be travelling, it was very black. Yes, I got another soaking  on the way home but it wasn't very cold so I just got on with it and hung up my wet bike trousers, jacket, gloves in the garage to dry
Despite the terrible thunderstorms we had a good day, and I met a couple of friends from my days when I volunteered at the museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.