Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Wafi

(15/7/23)

The big thing today was getting to Wafi for 9:15. I have no idea what was going on in Dubai, but everywhere was blocked with traffic. It was ridiculous. I eventually reached at 9:30. Thankfully, G came with me, so I  got out at the main entrance, and she parked the car for me.

I don't know why I rushed. My apointment was 9:40, but I didn't get called until an hour later. I just had to hand over my passport and do some biometrics. It's incredible how much upselling the staff are trained to. Right at the start, I was recommended the Premium service, where you wait in a quieter lounge. That was £70 more. Then at the counter, the man automatically assumed I wanted the SMS and courier service. That was £13 more. I said "No, thank you". Lastly, for £80, I could hold on to my passport for the three weeks it takes to review my documents to make a decision.

We didn't linger after I'd finished. There was loads to do at work. I had an excellent online meeting with my counterpart in Cairo. It is the first one since they cut communications. Thursdays are the better day for our weekly meeting, so there was more than one good outcome.

I made an executive decision and booked G & me for one night in the hotel where we've been enjoying our Friday night cocktails. There are loyalty points expiring in two weeks.

PS. My picture is of one of the stained glass roofs in Wafi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.