Everyday Life

By Julez

Happy Birthday To Me!

There was a bit of a panic whilst getting ready to go out last night when I could not find my red Converse baseball boots. I only really wear them for rugby matches and nights out, and had not needed them since we came back from Newcastle. I looked everywhere I ever keep footwear and some other places - more than once.  Brian decided to check the holdall we had taken to Newcastle, and there they were, along with a new pair of shorts I'd been looking for and several other items of "good" clothing I'd not missed as I'd not needed them. Phew!! 

Our meal out was excellent - well, mine was! I tried Bao Bun for the first time, with Halloumi, sweet chilli sauce, pickled veg and salad. Delicious. Whilst waiting I Googled how to eat them to avoid making a prat of myself! After we left and were nearly to our next destination we realised they had not added the second round of drinks we had to our bill! This made the price more reasonable...

We spent the rest of the evening in The Birdcage pub where a local band were playing - they were pretty good. It was a packed house and a fun evening. I sank quite a few gin and tonics and was still one of the most sober people there!

Still it was not a particularly early start this morning - after feeding Minstrel about 7 AM I went back to bed for another couple of hours. Then dossed about reading until it was time to get ready to go to Jeri's!

Brian gave me some Lush bath bombs and a promise to buy me a proper present when I decide what I would like. From Zeph I got a bottle of Opihr Gin (No. I'm not a lush, I promise - this will last me ages!) Jeri and family gave me the cake, the latest M.W Craven novel, a scented candle and a water bottle, and from Grace and Sophia I received another scented candle, crystals, incense and shortbread biccies! So I have been thoroughly spoilt.

It was lovely having everyone together again and we chatted and laughed the whole time, along with lots of eating!

Here is a photo of my birthday cake and an extra of Horatio, who did not realise anyone was watching, let alone taking photos, practicing new ways to use a fork! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.