The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Podcasts, jigsaw and murder

I walked to work. Thought it was winter so I put on my thick jacket and a light jumper. (Last night I wore my winter pyjamas. Summer seems to have sailed away). Listened to a travel podcast, You Should Have Been There, on the way in. My colleague arrived over-tired because she'd had visitors all weekend. I made her a cup of tea. Then the line manager came in and started showing us photos of babies (her friends') and then told us that one of our new colleagues had quit already. Fortunately it was not the one I had been training. It's just not the right kind of job for the departed one. This wasn't exactly a surprise, but even so, it's a disappointment. Will we ever catch up with our workload?

After work (I had a trainee nurse shadowing me all afternoon) I walked home, noticing that the sun was out. CleanSteve was also out. I had an ice cream and listened to more podcasts. Travel again, and some Guardian episodes on shoplifting in the UK, and school refusers. Snapped this shot of the pelargonium ardens.

Attempted to finish the very large jigsaw, the one with twelve cat-zodiac pictures. I've finished each cat picture, but the edge pieces all look the same, a sort of NHS-blue colour, and the pieces that join each panel together are all similar. I stopped when I realised that I was jamming them in, any old how. I dislike that blue, it reminds me of school tracksuit bottoms of the 1970s.

And the murder story? It's another everyday tale of a psychopath posing as a gay Christian to con an older man out of his house and life savings. Based on a real-life event apparently. It's called The Sixth Commandment, is on BBC 1 / iPlayer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.