The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Baroque night

What a day! I had to go into work for an hour. Unfortunately I did not leave exactly on time, which meant that I missed the bus to Cheltenham, where I was due to meet D. This might not have mattered except, that it was raining. Hard .

I went to a coffee shop. Spent six pounds on a hot chocolate and a biscuit. Tried not to drip on the pine tables.
Caught the next bus, suggesting to D that we met near the bus stop and ate somewhere local. He was all for taking another bus to somewhere else, but I told him I was too soggy already. In the event, we went to a pub and had a great lunch. D had wanted to discuss a proposed trip to a Christmas market, but as he now has to have surgery to remove a kidney stone, he doesn't want to book anything just yet. His operation has been postponed because of the forthcoming strikes. Consultants will now be striking, as well as junior doctors.

I saw Dave back to his car and then, in doing so, missed another bus! It was still raining. I went to another cafe. Spent more money. Caught the bus an hour later (the online timetable had been wrong, which was what fooled me). Steve picked me up in Stroud and brought me home. I had a quick rest, then he took me back to the edge of town so that I could walk to a concert at Lansdown Hall.

I've only managed to photograph half of the programme, entitled Dave Ayre's Baroque Night, but what a night! The Dave Ayre band is unique. I will find a link to a performance recording if I can.

Walked home afterwards. It was not raining. This concert, and the dry walk back, made up for all of the misery of the earlier part of the day. Thank you, Dave Ayre and the band!

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.