ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Noorman', Westkapelle

'Noorman' sounds almost like 'Norman' and means 'the Northman', maybe even 'the Norwegian man', but NOT 'the Norwegian', which would then be 'De Noor'.  Centuries ago, a 'Noorman' referred almost certainly to a Viking.  Language can be a strange thing, no?

The afternoon was good for hunting.  Before that, though, I had an interview at the office of yet another employment agency.  I'd been there in April 2020, trying to convince myself that I was feeling good enough to look for work and actually work, but, as you well know, my burn-out had barely begun, and so had COVID.  Today's interview went much, much better.  The young woman who talked to me three years ago has long since left and today it was a young man, colleague of the woman I talked to online last Friday, but he wanted to see me nonetheless because he is specifically assigned to this town and the surrounding area.  These interviews usually go well anyway, don't promise or guarantee anything, but at least give both interviewer and interviewee something to do when all the schools have shut for the summer, and occasionally do lead to a real contract such as what I got in August last year.  Despite all the years I've worked, my cynicism can't be helped.  One is lucky or not.

There used to be three windmills in the small village of Westkapelle.  The first one, 'The Rose', was built in 1550, the second one, the 'Dijkmolen', 'Dike-molen', in 1773, and this one in 1852 -- a lot for Westkapelle.  Then, on 03 October 1944, the British Air Force bombed Westkapelle to the ground, focusing on its dikes in an attempt to inundate the village and thereby drive the Germans out of it.  The dikes, heavily damaged, could no longer hold back the waters of the North Sea and gave way.  47 townspeople who had sought refuge in The Rose drowned, the 'Dike Mill' was bombed while it was milling flour.  At the end of the day, 175 people had died.  Only 'De Noorman' remained standing, and it was restored in 1945.  I felt sorry for those who were killed, but I also inwardly wept for the windmills.  The Dijkmolen and The Rose are gone for good.

Today, the streets around 'De Noorman' are being reconstructed and repaired, so I had to park elsewhere and then walk to it, which, of course, as all right with me.  Very lucky that the mill was facing the road, even though, unfortunately, it had its 'back' to the sun.  I couldn't make a good panoramic shot but never mind.

Thankful I've been feeling increasingly better since last week.  Adrenaline levels not high enough, but I can function normally.  Once back home, back to my genealogy, laundry, and kitchen duties.  After dinner, AW left for Monday evening live bridge with Amadeus.

Yesterday, Son, Rani, and the kids all left in their car for a month-long holiday in Scandinavia -- Denmark, Sweden, Norway.  Son worked on his off days and saved his pay and obtained permission from his boss.  So happy for them that they can have this grand adventure.  Thankful things are going well for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.