SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Rewilding

This morning's dog walk took me into the Estate, where I saw the reality of what I'd read yesterday. The lawns around Penicuik Old House are being turned into wildflower meadows, and the surface has already been scored - presumably prior to seeding.

I then went into Edinburgh to attend an event at the Law School where industry problems are posed to maths academics and PhD students. However, I soon realised that I wouldn't be able to contribute. The positives were a useful discussion with a colleague and meeting a former undergraduate student whom I got to know when teaching him, and who is now doing a PhD at Heriot-Watt. Lunch, however was uniformly vegetarian and somewhat pretentious: no meat, fish, eggs or cheese - yet still not vegan - little meaningful carbohydrate, no dessert, and no coffee.

Back in my office, I caught up on things that had landed on me while I was on holiday, and then started working on our software until I got too tired.

At home we have L, who is preparing her one-woman show for its premier at a free performance space in London at the weekend. A says that it's excellent...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.