Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

At Dunnet Head

In summer! Spectacular but so cold and windy! Today’s itinerary: Dornoch which is a lovely old village. Then Dunrobin Castle with its ideal location on the coast and grand gardens. We then went to John O’Groats - cold, wet, windy and busy with men trying to pull cars. After that it was on to Dunnet Head which, by about a foot is the most northerly point on the Scottish mainland. With it being so exposed to the winds, it’s almost impossible to get people to manage the lighthouse. Then onto Dunbead (I think that’s the name) and back to Inverness. Great views all day and lovely colours of the countryside. I also managed to get a table at a nice restaurant for dinner.
When I was back at my accommodation I saw the owner and mentioned I hadn’t realised the room was named after Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. I told her it was a favourite movie of my mother’s and what a coincidence it was as Tuesday is the one year anniversary of mum’s death. She noted it was no coincidence and mum wanted me to stay there to tell me she was ok. Nice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.