A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

HMO?

No not House of Multiple Occupation but a FMO, Flower of Multiple Occupation!

We had walk down the Goit this morning. Everything is huge! Hogweed taller than me and the beck so overgrown you can barely see the water in places. Some trees down in the beck nearer the waterfall. One has probably been there a while and it is already gathering bottles and other litter. Could be interesting in winter speight.
It was very steamy and muggy, dry and warm if rather damp under foot.

It was good to emerge into the fields above the woods though the paths here were quite muddy too.
At the end of the path you re-enter the woods and re-emerge above Cherry Tree Row on the edge of both villages. It was suddenly very warm and the Hogweed and Thistles alongside the path were alive with insects. 
The first time I’ve seen butterflies in number this year.

I took one shot with my zoom and the the Small Tortoiseshell 
flew to a bloom nearer to me (extra). That was it, not brilliant but delighted to get a butterfly shot at last and blip sorted.

When I downloaded I was amazed to see the zoom shot I took first was full of life. A Hoverfly, a Red Soldier Beetle (thank you Sgwarnog), the Tortoiseshell, a Ladybird and something I’m not sure of the identity of on the flower furthest right! 5 in all.
Definitely had to be my blip!

Had a coffee in the garden centre, commenting that this was what we really missed when we did this walk quite frequently in lockdown. 

Since getting back I have booked my train tickets for Bath in September. Can’t believe I’m looking at that month already! Have we had summer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.