Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Another winged thing

..which, as I guess most of you already know, is a humming-bird hawk-moth.  This one wasn't from there, but I've been watching them up at the butterfly reserve for the last 3 years and never got a decent shot.  Then suddenly the above flew across my lens today and here we are!  Definitely chuffed!

I read somewhere recently that its proboscis is approx an inch long, from which you can judge it's size in the above.

And regarding today's title, it has occurred to me how very many of my summer blip subjects have wings: birds, damselflies, dragonflies, hoverflies, ladybirds, bees, butterflies, moths.  At least the horses yesterday were firmly rooted to the earth ;))

Enjoy your evening, dear blipfriends  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.