Living my dream

By Mima

Now and then

This is a bit of a cheat. #2 brother took the photo yesterday when he was on The Wirral with #1, visiting #3. It is our old house, as it looks now. As opposed to what it looked like then (1982, when Mum and Dad put it on the market).

It would be pretty difficult to play tennis on the very tiny court, with a pine tree in the middle of it. But it is still completely recognisable as our house even though it’s four decades since we lived there. How can time have passed so fast?

Having read my blurb about Job’s Ferry last week they decided to revisit it. To their delight the tide was low enough to be able to see the old quay and they took numerous photos of 1000-year-old sandstone blocks and worn steps for me. In extras.

This afternoon I de-waxed and operated on the cheeses which had developed surface mould. Then I re-waxed them. It was a time-consuming kerfuffle which is leading me to research the costs (financial and environmental) of using a vacuum seal system as an alternative to wax. It would definitely be quicker, and I would be able to see exactly what’s going on with the cheese through the plastic. It will take me a while to make a decision…

Rather depressingly I met a farmer today who declared that the extreme heat in the northern hemisphere is all due to La Niña. It’s all part of the natural cycle apparently. No matter what I said he was adamant, and when I suggested there is scientific research which supports humans’ culpability his hackles rose and I could see his mind barricading against anything else I might say. Sigh… No wonder I have nightmares about where we are heading.

Late addition: The same farmer also told me with utter conviction that because the Covid virus is round, like a cold virus, it is nothing to get in a sweat about. A doctor told him so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.