Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Lily Pond Sky

Taking advantage of a day where sunshine and the ability to walk coincide, we have a late afternoon visit to Bodnant. We arrive just an hour before closing, so late that I have the lily ponds almost to myself. 

I only make it to the terraces, leaving G to walk a circuit of the gardens, but this is more than enough for me. Dragons are mysteriously completely absent, so life on the lily ponds is left to water creatures hurtling almost unseen across the surface. A lone grey wagtail lands, reflection perfect as he hops and bobs along the lily pads, but flies off suddenly before I get a shot. This matters not, as it is the lily ponds themselves I’ve come to photograph, blue skies and scudding clouds reflected perfectly in their surface. 

Of course, as it’s Bodnant, some flower photography is obligatory, so there’s a collage  extra. 

Edit: my original shot has been irritating me all day, so I’ve changed it to a cropped version focusing more on the sky’s reflection in the lily pond. 

Thanks to Bobsblips for hosting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.