TrishaR

By TrishaR

Transformation!

After the awful morning of yesterday (Tuesday) this morning was relatively ok! We arrive around 9am, and it takes a wee while for mum to come to and realise what time of day it is, especially as yesterday she had most of the day in bed sleeping to recover from Tuesday during the night..

Got her up to the loo and back into bed for her breakfast. First thing she said, after back into bed. ‘This is Thursday, I’m getting my hair cut today’! We were saying oh it’s too much for you blah blah but she wouldn’t take NO for an answer. I dropped it into the convo a few times and boy did I get a comeback. There was nothing I could say she was ADAMANT! Her spirit is strong. Breakfast over we headed home and I popped in to Audra the hairdresser to explain to her and she was great saying if you find can’t manage it’s ok she’s my last client of the day . I mean mum really isn’t ever a lover of getting her hair done but it was definitely needing cut but I just didn’t think she was up to it. She thought otherwise….

S went to walk Saffy and I walked down to the GP surgery to check if Dr Walker had brought in the wheelchair she said we could borrow and also pick up a report from Ninewells for Mum. She had brought it so S picked it up later on. What a difference to the one at the complex, and what a kind offer from Dr Walker.

It was a lovely sunny day. I went to Tabou and sat out with a coffee and croissant, a bit of normality, sitting in the sunshine eating and reading my book. Switch off time.

Picked up a few things at Tesco and walked over to Mum. Stopped off at the newsagent and cancelled her newspaper, as she’s not reading it anymore.

Made her lunch then got her dressed for the Big Trip. S brought up the wheelchair and we got mum into it , down to the lift and then in to the car and we were on our way. Car parked right outside the hairdresser on Glasgow Road, wheelchair from the car to inside, Got her into the seat to get hair washed and then back into wheelchair for the cut and dry. We left for half an hour and I prepared the haddock for her tea.

What a difference in Mum when we went and picked her up. A haircut can really transform and this sure did. She really was exhausted but glad it was done. Got her back home, into bed for a sleep and we went home. My brother was making her tea so he picked up the key from us to do all the tea and chat, and we went back around 7:30. She had had a visit from Angela, the previous warden who was the best warden ever, a FaceTime with Morag as she was working late . Mum was much better today, and is talking of getting up tomorrow. (She didn’t get up).

The district nurse is coming at 2 so I said she could get up for lunch and then have some of the afternoon in her chair and meet her.

Home around 8:30. I just said to S is it really only two weeks since we came back early from hols?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.