TrishaR

By TrishaR

Not a good day

Mum was a bit disorientated this morning. She asked me if Graham, my brother had told me his bad news, no I said. He has cancer in his knees….. I said no he hasn’t he has arthritic knees but not cancer! We gave her breakfast and then settled her to sleep.

Went into town for some items of shopping. Got a cauliflower to make cauliflower and CJ ease sauce with mash for mum. I read on the cancer website to try and give high calorie food and no drinking before meals so they don’t get filled up. It’s so hard getting her to eat. We went back for lunch time, taking Cameron with us.

Hilary of the Community Nirsing Team came to assess mum and her needs. There are a few items they are going to bring to us . She was around an hour and she also examined mum for bed sores. Left about 3:30, took Cameron home , had some food went a walk.

Back at mum about 7:45 . Graham and Rachel were still there and they left and made mum her cuppa with her pills. Got her up for the loo. She is weak beyond measure. If we hadn’t been there she would have fallen twice. Got her sorted back in bed. Went to give her a hug goodbye and she looks up at me and quietly says ‘thank you Tricia’. I started crying and said I’m so worried about you and she said don’t worry please. It broke my heart. This is hard seeing the deterioration in two weeks. I’ve told her not to get out of bed all night and we will see you for breakfast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.