TrishaR

By TrishaR

Mum and Laura

Mum is so very tired now. Sleep takes over her day and night. But when she is awake she is still that feisty and spirited mum, making us laugh and keeping me in my place when I want to ‘help’ with her water bottle or spoon and fork for her food.

S and I got her sitting up a bit in bed for breakfast and for her cuppa. I got a row for it being too hot. She was tired again quickly so we left her to sleep and we walked into town for some breakfast, then for something that she still loves, Goodfellow and Stephen strawberry tarts. Sweet tooth rules to the end! ‘Just a half one’ usually gets all eaten.

Laura, Dave and Cameron came up to the flat later after shopping for last minute stuff for Korea. Morag arrived before them and we had a good chat with her. Laura, here, is showing mum her pics from her day out in Edinburgh yesterday where they went for a meal and cocktails. Her and Dave and K and P had a great time out for lunch and a few cocktail bars . Mum remembered this in the morning asking me if Laura had a hangover! She also Showed her a video of Ben in the sea at Stornoway with his boogie board and pics of the whale and dolphin they spotted on a boat trip. We had some laughs too remembering fun times on family get togethers and of course Mum was always in the thick of it! Always loved a party time.

She got a shot of morphine (she calls it Opium ) as had some stomach pain, and we left at 3 to have a sleep .

I had a lie down in bed as was awake at 3:30am for a while. I think I nodded off for a little while but not long.. We walked over to Mum’s and she was still asleep at 6:30. Got her sitting up, after she came to and gave her some food, she didn’t eat much but as I said, snaffled the strawberry tart with her tea. We had some conversations about things we had done, remembering good times and how her and I liked an argument but after it was done it was forgotten about. Opinions matter!

Mum has deteriorated quicker than I thought.. I’m trying to envisage life without this amazing woman in it, with her legendary sense of humour and it breaks my heart knowing she won’t be around to hear what going on with us, our FaceTime’s every night about 8:30 if we haven’t seen her that day, sending texts and pictures of where we are or what we are doing. And her questions about everything and anything. What a loss to our family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.