Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Inevitable

(21/7/23)

I had a great day at work in the morning that finished with cake and Puranmal samosas, courtesy of a colleague's birthday. :))

Our friend Miriam is in town, and we arranged to meet her for dinner. We should have been practising some songs for tomorrow's meeting, but G & I had our practice last night, despite everything else we'd done.

I got into the car to drive home and noticed a triangle with an exclamation mark in the centre, which I was sure I'd never seen before. The car drove fine until the last 200 metres when a sign showed up telling me that the Power steering system had failed. I managed to park the car in front of the building as I was going to pick G up to get the recycling done before meeting Miriam.

The car then proceeded to throw up all sorts of warning signals and eventually completely shut down. ARGH. So annoying. There wasn't time to deal with it there and then, so we changed plans to stay in the flat and order food. We had a fantastic evening catching up on the last few months. Miriam has been in Cambridge doing some amazing things.

We couldn't drop her back to her hotel, so I ordered a taxi for her. Once she left, I called for a tow truck to get the Peugeot to the garage. The man arrived and decided it was just a battery problem but would take the car to the garage if I wanted. I insisted, so at 11:40 PM, this was us getting the car on the tow truck. It's the first time for this Peugeot. Thankfully, it's been over two years since we've had a ride in one of these. We dropped the car off and came home in a taxi, pleased we had done it in the night because a. it was slightly cooler (35degC) and b. there was far less traffic to contend with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.