Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Object d'art

It's been a bit of a non-stop day today - starting with having the three split-unit air-conditioners in the flat serviced. It is a once-a-year maintenance thing, and ideally should be done around April before the weather gets really hot (except I wasn't here in April).

Job done in 90 minutes. Split units easier as they are done insitu but it then meant the customary cleaning up after the workmen have been although these ones did try to clear up after themselves. I have never mopped the floor in this flat until today. All I can say is - there's a lot of floor!!! [Our previous flat had carpet in the bedrooms and only one bathroom.]

That done, I drove G to her Monday afternoon student near the airport, which left me with an hour to race around to try to do a shop in Hyper Panda (in a mall aprecious). Back home and G had another student! Bad planning me-thinks! I caught up with ironing.

I've struggled for a blip today. The a/c servicing was just - blah! Had a big think and decided on this little object which I bought several years ago because I simply love it! A little yacht made of I'm not sure what - but it doesn't need too much looking after so works for me. I love it's soft curves and it fits in the palm of my hand. Decided on a blue base - for obvious reasons. Was trying to do a Andy Warhol type thing here... I love those four identical images in different colours.

Handed in my papers to get my residence visa stamped in my passport. Forgot to mention the result of my blood test/x-ray: I am "Free from Infectious Diseases." So says the stamp! Woo hoo! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.