Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Lily

Each year, the timing of our lily flowers seem  to coincide with summer downpours. These floral beauties need sunshine and balmy summer nights when we can sit outside and drink in their glorious fragrance. Today, they’re just opening up in sunshine that promises much, but sadly it seems they will be left outside alone while we shelter from the weekend’s heavy rain. 

I’ve watched our new scabious plants slowly coming into bloom the white variety flowered several weeks ago, but the blue’s been slow and secretive, eventually flowering imperfectly, its circle of petals not quite complete. Yet backed by the cascading froth of ammi majus, it now forms its own tiny natural bouquet - and today’s extra. 

I must apologise for constantly being behind with journals - I know you understand, but I do get annoyed with my own inefficiencies. I keep catching up, then fall behind again - but I really do appreciate your visits, comments, stars and hearts. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.