Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Under a cloud

Last night when I was about to blip I watched the last pink light in the sky to the north of us as the thick cloud ended our sunny day and a thin rain swept over the garden. This morning it was decidedly chilly in the bedroom as the rain hit the windows in a blustery east wind and I decided it wasn't worth rushing to meet the day and instead stayed in bed till 9am, catching up on blips and contemplating another wee sleep (I didn't succumb). Most of the morning was spent in similarly floppy mode, the only difference being that I was clothed and downstairs, listening to the radio and scrolling in a futile manner that reflected the way I felt. (I reckon new antihistamines plus the departure of most of the more benign effects of morphine from my body left me feeling pretty wabbit. I reckon that term more or less sums it up.) 

We had a sandwich for lunch, and I went on sitting there, falling asleep over the papers and checking the progress of my family through the byways of Central France with growing obsessiveness. My older granddaughter shares her location, so I could watch her, so to speak, sometimes stuck fast for ages, sometimes leaping miles as the signal varied. It was after 4pm that I felt that a breath of air might help.

We went south again, passing through Innellan just as PS Waverley steamed past on her way north after a sail through the Kyles of Bute. Himself slowed just enough for me to catch a photo along what used to be the end of Innellan pier, now reduced to a sort of yard with wheelie bins in it. The top seems to have blown off one ...She doesn't look very busy on this blustery day, but maybe the bars and lounges are packed full.

We had a good if brief walk along the shore, observing how a pair of camper vans had effectively blocked the path to the now rather overgrown beach at the mouth of the Ardyne Burn and wondering which, if any, of the many plants burgeoning around us was contributing to our streaming eyes. Apparently this year is particularly trying for hay fever sufferers with the early hot, dry weather in June combining with the general effect of climate change bringing new vigour to their irritants. 

Meanwhile Rhodes is burning, one half of my family arrived safely in the South of France and the other finished a week of intensive football training in Spain. And apparently today was sunny in Lewis, Skye and Oban. See weather?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.