Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...A flash of blue...

I went out to have my tea on the deck this morning and decided to put some peanuts out. Within a minute, the first blue jay careened down and did some fancy moves above the table where I put the peanuts. This is one of the moves - slick, huh? I cropped this a bit to get the table out of the shot; otherwise it is SOOC. I actually got an amusing series of shots of the jays, posted on Flickr, starting here.

I found my first ever Orchard spider (a long-jawed orbweaver) in the garden today - it's very tiny and very brightly colored. I never thought I'd see myself typing this in connection with a spider, but it's very pretty! There were also lots of tiny brown damsels in the coral bells - this one was gazing at me rather intently.

Worked in the office this morning then went out to do some more planting. It's much nicer today than the last few days - temps are finally down in the 70's which is more normal for this time of year. Thank goodness as it isn't much fun to work outside when it's 90+ F.

I'm ridiculously behind on comments but am trying to catch up. At the very least, I am zipping by to look at all the wonderful photos - thanks for making me smile, say oooooh and wow and OMG a lot!

I am hoping to blip some baby finches soon - I saw a couple of recently fledged chicks at the feeder this morning with their parents, begging up a storm. That is one of the cutest things ever - the way they flutter their little wings and loudly beg! Mimsy too a peanut from my hand this weekend - amazing little creature hasn't forgotten me. It melted my heart to have her gently take the peanut from my fingers.

Happy Monday

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.