Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

"Give us your cherries, and no one gets hurt.

For the second day in a row, I had a pair of Cedar Waxwings on the cherry trees, gobbling up the tiny sour cherries. Since I can go months without seeing one, I had to blip this pair today. I love the way their markings make them look as if they are wearing little masks - all ready to hold up a liquor store or something.

In other news today...

The chickadees fledged the nest box, leaving it empty. I did see one of them leave and was amazed at how well he flew, considering it was his first time. If things go the way they did last year, I won't see them again for a week or so as mom and dad will be showing them the ropes in the woods. Meanwhile, it took the second male house wren about a nano-second to zip over to the box for an inspection. I quickly cleaned out the chickadee nest, just in case the little wren wants to build yet another nest... sigh.

I was privileged to witness one of the normally elegant Gray Catbirds take an extremely exhuberent bath after which he looked at me as if to say Is there something bothering you?. I love watching birds bath - it is such a seemingly joyous activity.

Hubs and I did a bunch of planting early this morning before it got too hot - very pleased with the way our little patch by the rock hillside is taking shape. Yes, yes, I'll post pictures soon - I promise.

I think one of the carpenter bees has made a nest-hole somewhere on our deck as he is vigourously patrolling the perimeter, chasing off any intruders.

Hope you all had a good weekend. Thanks for the kind words yesterday - it helped.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.