Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Troubleshooting

(23/7/23)

It's been a stay-at-home day - not just because of the heat outside but also because we haven't got wheels. ;((

So, the day began with receiving an order from Amazon. A 256GB USB flash drive was what I was waiting for. I am finally switching to my new laptop, so need it to transfer data. Before getting into that, I spent some of the morning looking up hire cars. The other part of the morning was spent coordinating the delivery of a secondhand alternator which the garage finally confirmed is what the car needs.

They don't have one in stock (and at £900 - I wouldn't be buying it from them anyway). Our trusted supplier had one at a fraction of the price. I managed to coordinate the delivery and payment(!!). Now I have to wait patiently.

I unpacked my (very) smart-looking USB stick and started copying things over. Not sure what happened, but during the second batch of transfers, the flash drive had a catastrophic failure. It won't register on any of the ports of either of the laptops. ARGH. A lot of time was wasted lost troubleshooting not just the device but the laptops as well, and then general tidying up of things.

In the end, I gave up and decided to start working on a new video. Everything was going fine until I hit a roadblock on that front too. The more I use the new laptop, the more I realise I really don't like Windows 11. Now I have to think about rolling back to Windows 10 except after reading up on it - if I didn't do it within the first ten days, then I have to do a completely fresh install. How much more time will these devices waste???!!!

I was so pleased to switch off at the end of the evening and go to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.