Flossmo

By Flossmo

Blessed is a world that sings…

Gentle are its songs.

After studying the forecast for the day I decided a trip to Llangollen would be in order. I know Llangollen well but I never tire of it. I was also reminded that I hadn’t see the Llangollen International Eisteddfod Choir of the Year Concert this year so before setting out I decided to find it on iPlayer and listen in as I carried on with paperwork of various kinds that I started yesterday. There was some wonderful singing and the 132 minutes of the programme raced past. The title at the top of the blip is the motto that is strung across the Eisteddfod stage and it has been for the last three quarters of a century. Apparently there have recently been moves afoot to change the motto as it starts in the original Welsh with the words byd gwyn which could be translated as a white world, but also a pure world or a blameless world or a blessed one. I hope it doesn’t get changed out of a misplaced correctness. The important thing is the sentiment which has always been about uniting the peoples of the world in music. 

Llangollen was busy but not crazily so. I had a good walk along the river (see extra) and a wander around the shops. The main photograph is of a couple of musical notes embedded into the pavement across the bridge. I even popped into the small museum of local history where I saw the collecting box (see extra) that I know so well from my childhood chapel days. 

Back at the apartment I had a long chat with Mr Flossmo and then later a WhatsApp with a friend who is just back from a horse trekking holiday in Iceland. It sounded horrendous but she had enjoyed it immensely and is thinking of doing another. Each to their own I say. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.