Flossmo

By Flossmo

Aberystwyth

Back blip: 

Yesterday was one of Flossmo’s grand days out. 

I set out at about 8:30 and arrived in Aberystwyth just after 10. My satnat took me close to the University Art Gallery and after a bit of frantic driving up and down narrow hilly local streets I finally found the gallery and somewhere to park. The gallery was in an old building full of polished wood and completely empty of people save a couple of staff and myself. I had a marvellous hour and a half looking at the main exhibition: Collaboration in Practice: British Lithography  1800-2022, and a smaller exhibition by Marcelle Hanselaar: Crying, Bleeding, Kicking, Screaming. For the main exhibition Paul Croft had assembled a mind blowing collection of prints and liberally added some interesting boards explaining the development of lithography as an art form (see extra). I was less overwhelmed by Marcelle’s take on the seamier side of life but there is no doubting that she tells it like it is.

After my gallery time I drove downhill in the hope of finding the sea (!) and found a spot to park not far from the harbour. I spent a happy couple of hours walking along the promenade including a stop for tea and a wonderful yoghurt-coated, blueberry flapjack. 

Later I drove back up the hill to the Welsh National Library where I had a pleasant lunch and a wander around the Lasting Impressions exhibition (see extra). Yet more wonderful prints to admire. 

After a final cup of tea I set off for Oswestry landing back about 5:30; tired but satisfied.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.