Kaybees Bits

By Kaybee

Just Wee Things

I keep talking about making "wee" things but the pictures I take of them don't have anything to give a clue as to size - so today I have added dimensions (there are 2 more in the extras).

The doorbell went this morning and H was there .... looking to see if I had a spark-plug extractor -- or a lawnmower. He was wanting to cut the grass before the new owners more into the house at the bottom of the courtyard that he has sold.
Yes to the first - No chance to the latter (I got rid of that when I got rid of the grass and put in the pond ... about 20 years ago).
Then the fun started trying to find the extractor.
I thought I knew exactly where it was (it hasn't been used in over 20 years)...... so I moved piles of wood, dust and 'stuff'.
No sign of it, so the search area was extended.
Still no joy.
So there was a change of tack ......... deep reach sockets. Those I could lay my hands on.
Success - there was one the right size.
We weren't convinced about the spark plug though - it was almost solid with carbon deposits.
Back to the garage for a wire brush and some sandpaper for a clean up.
It worked! . But it did backfire a bit when it was shut down after its trial. I suspect the engine is running too rich - but the mower is being left so it only needed to last today.

There was a shopping done this afternoon.
As usual, I used the shops' app on my phone, where I scan the items and then at the pay point scan my phone on a QR thing, pay with plastic and get the receipt.
When we got home SWMBO realised that there was a 'Birthday Card' on the receipt. 
SWMBO phoned the store ...... You can't talk to a real person! If you have a problem with charges, you get told to return to the store!

After feeding the cats this evening I went down to the store with the receipt.
"Are you sure you didn't get a card? ...... I am sure. "Could it have been a gift bag or something?" .... In the fruit & veg aisle? ...... "I have never seen that before" ..... "Neither have I and I had better never see it again".
There is no way to bring up the items scanned on the app once you get to the QR point to prove your point.
I got the money back .... but nothing to cover the extra trip to the shop - that may be another argument at a later point when there is somebody with half a blame and some real responsibility on duty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.