PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Cover Boy

Spent the day chez Family B and learned that the Young Master has now moved into a full-sized cot, having outgrown his Moses basket. The little chunk is eight months old now!

So it means I must return to my blanket project that's been on hold for a month or so: remember all those granny-square lions I was crocheting? Well, I veered off to create a complementary project (you might see a lion peeping out top right) to make a four-page suckable book for the baby boy. It has his portrait (bottom right) on the cover (page 1), then a penguin on page 2, a lion to match his blanket-to-be on page 3, while the last page is a fox. He loves it to wave around, feel and, yes, suck - which is why I chose a cotton yarn for this. I crocheted the pages together to create a spine for the book and ironed Fablon to the back of each page. It's fully washable. 

When I first delivered it, I 'read' it to little Miss B, making up a story about how her brother met all these animals. She listened carefully, asked for a repeat telling, and then showed it to the baby, retelling the story in her own words. So sweet! Since then it's been his to treat as he pleases.

So next, apart from finishing making little Miss B's zoo, I must complete the boy's blanket before this British summer weather gets any colder! And finish knitting Master B's button-up jacket! At least I won't get bored.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.