Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Brown Argus

A day of long walks and much gardening.  How exhausting, but it did culminate in posting this lovely brown argus, so I'm happy.

I knew nothing about this butterfly until last year when I posted one from the butterfly reserve, and as you see I successfully looked for it again.  I can't tell if it's male or female, but from its size I'm guessing it's male (yes, boys, for once - in butterfly land - females are the large ones).  The red in the rather wonderful background it chose for me is nothing more exotic than sorrel, which lower down in the valley has already turned brown and crispy.

My gardening has mostly been weeding and digging, though my rather - er - forceful neighbour pushed me into holding her stepladder while she tried to cut back the full-grown lime tree infront of our houses.  She really is slightly nutty and much too old to be doing silly things like that, but I felt if I refused and she did it alone she might brain herself falling off.  It would make for a quiet life, but I would feel guilty!

So that's my Tuesday.  Hope yours had been a good one  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.