A day in the life

By Shelling

Unexpected day

I woke up, rested. The last few days I've been waking up really early, about five and then forcing myself back to sleep, to go up, tired, past nine which is unusually late for me. It was sunny and windy, a perfect day for washing.

Some time after ten I got a call from my danish cousin telling me him and his wife were on a three day holiday in Sweden and wanted to pop in for a coffee in a few hours, normally they would plan these things days, or weeks in advance. They were of course very welcome and they did give me enough time to make my home look decent, we had a nice few hours chatting over some coffee and cake. They are actually the first of my friends and family that has visited me in my new home, it felt special and nice, just very unexpected.

They left just after six, which gave me time to go to a concert I was invited to, that started at seven. My old musical friends Konstantin and Natalia gave a concert with a Viennese repertoar for piano and violin, quite an uncommon repertoar these days but very appreciated by us, the audience, and they are by far the best musicians around, for that kind of music. 

The concert was held way down south of my island and on my way home I couldn't resist a sunset picture from one of my favourite places to conclude this weird day, full of contrasting emotions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.