LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Sutherland’s Lane

The much heralded rain which was meant to blight the landscape and our lives today hasn’t arrived yet and in fact it’s been a bright day with periods of sunshine although it has been windy. The wind scale is different to me a lowlander than to an  Orcadian but my scale says it’s really windy; a native might describe it as a bit blowy.

Slip and Dip was conducted at quite low tide in choppy waters but was as ever invigorating. There were no handstands because the stretch of slip available was in too shallow water and slippery into the bargain.

I had books to take back to the library this morning but was waylaid by a Selkie and diverted for a coffee. I took them back this afternoon and had a seat in my happy place overlooking the harbour and today’s restless sea.  I read for a bit but left early as I was in danger of embarrassing myself by falling asleep- it’s that kind of place

Stromness is a warren of lanes and alleyways and my blip is of one off the Street on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.