ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Poppy

Before we really knew what we wanted with the front garden, Mr A chucked a couple of packets of random seeds in it. Some poppies have come up and are now supplying colour. These are Californian poppies, I think, but slightly different ones to those we had on the balcony a few years ago. Some subtle colours. Good for a blip today.

Sadly, the weather was a complete contrast to yesterday. Wet, but quite warm and humid, as we realised when we walked down to the supermarket for a quick shop at lunchtime. The best of the weather was probably during my swim at Shandwick at 6.30pm, and indeed at points during the evening. None the less, I'm glad we watered yesterday, as quite a few bits of the garden don't actually get that much water when it rains, especially the plants in tubs which are under the roof eaves.

I was also glad I went swimming. After an intensive set of meetings this morning, and then a couple this afternoon, I was not feeling too bright, and indeed had to close my eyes for a powernap at one point. Predictably, going swimming has energised me. They really are a wonderful group of women. We largely just floated around in the waves chatting. As I pointed out, if treading water was an Olympic sport, we'd be world class. Hoping for a good night's sleep tonight, and to be ready and lively for our visitors tomorrow. They are already in Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.