ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Bright awakening

I found the sleeper to be an entirely congenial experience. The new carriages run more smoothly than the old ones, and while the bunks are just as narrow, they feel a bit more comfortable. My Fitbit didn't think I slept at all (because of the movement, I guess), but I felt reasonably rested in the morning, although I did wake up a few times. However, I had no sense of us stopping in Crewe or Preston, which we definitely did, as I spoke to some passengers who got on at Preston the following morning.

The best bit about the experience was the ride through the Highlands in brilliant sunshine from about 6am onwards. I woke up quite early and went to sit in the club car and had a very early breakfast. That's when I got this shot, which I took just north of Dunkeld. The blue skies stuck with us not only through the journey but for the rest of the day. It was a lovely way of arriving painlessly back in the north. I would definitely use the sleeper again, although it is a touch pricey.... I hadn't previously particularly enjoyed the sleeper journey from London to Edinburgh or vice versa as the distance isn't really long enough. But it truly makes sense for the longer journey to Inverness. And as noted above the new carriages are an improvement.

Mr A picked me up from Inverness, and we drove up to Dornoch, via Fraser Brothers in Alness where we had to pick up a slab for the new patio after one cracked. The visit to Dornoch was for the community market, which gathers twice a month. We picked up two enormous herbs and a funky plant for £3.70 from a woman who lives near Ardgay, and had a quick look at the plants sold by Corry Croft Nursery. In addition, we bought some meat and some cheese. It was altogether quite a funky expedition. Going to Dornoch also meant I could get some reasonable bread from the Dornoch Stores.

Back home, I enjoyed having coffee in the sun at the new picnic bench, and we also sat out there after dinner having a beer. It's delightful, although there aren't too many plants around the back yet. Just our wee herb garden. My other commitment was my regular Wednesday evening yoga, which helped me iron out some of the kinks that the long train journey had put into my body. I was a bit overdressed for the yoga and ended up very sweaty as the room was warm. Hot yoga, anyone?

I finally got round to starting my blipping on Wednesday, and (by Thursday afternoon I had) back blipped Sunday, Monday and Tuesday in London. Sorry for the lack of engagement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.