Amazonia

Meetings etc finished mid afternoon, so three of us headed off in a taxi to go to an exhibition of photographs of the Amazon by a photographer called Sebastian Salgado at a community centre. Bizarrely, after I'd posted this, I realised that the same exhibition is currently in Manchester and Ellisroger had been to see it!

Amongst other notable things was travelling along the Minhocão, where I walked on Sunday, by car. Mmmmm.

The exhibition was spectacular and despite not having English language captions was sufficiently intelligible to be really informative. It would be a great exhibition to bring to Europe.

In the evening we enjoyed a short concert of Brazilian music by a community orchestra (I think) that has a connection to the favellas. We are waiting for a list of the pieces they played, as I'd like to make up a Spotify playlist.

Afterwards, I had a drink with MH and VR and caught up. Apparently some of the group went for dinner and came back at 1am (or even 3am according to some stories...). That wouldn't have appealed to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.