ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Changes

A second day in London. I didn't have quite such an early start, so managed a quick breakfast with L and a cheerio with his wife before getting the train. Getting to KCL from Peckham Rye is quite efficient, with a decent amount of walking. I was struck, yet again, by the volume of cyclists on the Embankment. London has done much more to prioritise cyclists than Edinburgh has.

I got a couple of shots of the Somerset House quadrangle - very elegant - and a good view across the Thames from a window on the top floor of the very brutalist Macadam House. I also hadn't been to KCL since the road was closed in front to all but "access" and bikes, and that makes an amazing change (see bottom left photo).

I had to miss most of the conference in the afternoon because of meetings, and then I had a nice chat with my former PhD student PJC, who now holds a senior position in KCL law school. I'm definitely at that stage in life where quite a few of my PhD students have got chairs.... After a brief reception for the whole conference, I split the scene and started walking up towards Bloomsbury before jumping in a taxi part of the way to meet my colleague DS for a snack/meal/drink before he saw me to Euston for my (sleeper) train. In terms of DS, let me just say that Ridgeback saw a good 'un there.

Into the sleeper, and while I sat for a little while in the club room / restaurant, I soon retired to my cabin where I was pretty comfortable, all things being equal. More on the sleeper tomorrow.

I've been backblipping London and it starts here and continues here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.