An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Stormy washday blues...

Today is the last day of relative calmness before a week of activity....yes, I've just checked the calendar and the next free day is a week tomorrow!

So with that in mind, I've had a relatively easy day and not felt guilty about it :-)

Lunch with D who was worried his golf game would be rained off but it dried up just before he was due to head out.  Yay!  :-)

We had soup for lunch today and I depressingly noted that it felt like a "soup day" ie grey and a bit miserable.  I also noted that last night I was aware for the the first time of the nights drawing in.  Just after 10pm last night light levels were definitely darker and tonight it was even more noticeable.  Oh I do hope we return to summer weather soon, before the evenings are much shorter!

While D was golfing I finished the painting I started yesterday but can't blip it as it might end up being a gift for someone (not from me but from someone else.)  

Still had the painting itch but didn't want to start anything too big or detailed as it will be at least a week before I'll get back to it, then I remembered a tutorial I saw a couple of weeks ago about negative painting (negative painting is a technique where you mainly paint around the subject rather than on the subject, concentrating on the surrounding negative space rather than the subject itself) so I masked off the edge of a small piece of practice paper, about 6 x 4", and had a go at a washing line.  It took no time and was great fun to do.  I have four small sheets of the practice paper left and I suspect more washing lines will appear in different weather conditions :-))

David returned happy from a great round of golf.  If his front nine had been as good as his back nine he would've gone round in 76!  lol

Got a lovely bit of news today.  Our friend Lin has a new golden retriever puppy (pic in extras :-) and the next item on my to-do list is to arrange a visit from her to meet him!  

I am so happy that she is willing to bring him to meet us and Lola at such a tender age, as when she brought her last puppy to meet us Lola taught him every bad habit she knows!  Lin is well known in the GR world and her dogs are usually from the GR working line (smaller framed with much redder coats) but this one is a proper little bundle of cream and light caramel, so I will be interested to hear how she came to have him.  

Oh and Carole is coming on Monday to trim Lola.  Yay!  She is well overdue as Carole's been looking after her ill mum so not had the chance to come up (I wouldn't take Lola to anyone else) so it will be quite a long trim!  Cant wait!  Her feet are yeti like! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.