Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Stained glass

Where to start today?

It's Sunday, and we didn't have anything planned. I had ideas of getting the ironing done in an hour, but my laptop was calling. I started on a new video on the new laptop but had to stop because I hit a wall. A whole week has passed, and I haven't had a solution from the app's maker, so I decided to give it the time it needs.

It didn't last long, as it was soon lunchtime, and we went to McCafferty's again for a Sunday Lunch. It amused me that no matter what time we arrived, a sporting event was just starting. Two weeks ago, it was a repeat of the Wimbledon Ladies Final, the week before that, it was the Ashes. Today it was live coverage of the Germany-Colombia Women's World Cup match. We watched until the first ten minutes of the second half, then moved on to Icons, where we met with Sam, Farzan's younger son. He is in Dubai doing an internship and is so grown up now. He had been doing a grocery shop in Carrefour and was on his way home.

We were too after a coffee and shop at Carrefour! We've had two rides with minimum taxi fare; I'm so glad I didn't hire a car for the day. Speaking of cars, I heard from the garage in the morning. Their manager is back and is looking into the saga of my car. He said they have sourced another alternator and will update me by lunchtime tomorrow. I was so glad I hadn't ordered parts from the UK or France over the weekend.

Back at home, I want to get my new laptop up and functioning but just can't get on with Windows 11, so I have decided to go back to Windows 10 Pro. I had to back up the data I had put on it last week. What a waste of time.

PS. My blip is of one of the smaller pyramid roofs in Wafi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.