biddy

By biddy

Signs of early Autumn……

……..on my 3 mile walk this morning, with a coffee stop!
Luscious ripe blackberries.
It was trying to mizzle when I set off to walk to Chase Farm café.
It isn’t chilly outside but damp and up to now, light rain.
There is a lovely stand of silver birch trees on a patch of green part way there. One edge of the the green has been left and not mown. It is lovely with its poppies, and other wild flowers which are growing there in profusion. Photo in extras.
I just stood to look at it to see which flowers I could spot.
Under the trees I spotted a profusion of different kinds of fungi.
A sure sign of the Autumn to come, just as I see daffodils and camellias in flower on photos which blippers in New Zealand post…..harbingers of their oncoming eventual Spring.
Stephen is umpiring another cricket match today, in Harborne.
They were rained off just before lunch and I’ve just had a message to say that the game has had to be abandoned.
Since I arrived home the drizzle has turned to a constant light rain.
The garden is looking luminous green, as I listen to the last day of the Ashes Test match coming from the Oval in London. England need to bowl the Australians all out in order to win this game, and level the series to 2-2.
In the meantime, the rain is dripping off the patio table and chairs.
And tomorrow we move into August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.