ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Lily again

I have blipped a picture of these asiatic lilies every year since we got them in September 2021. They have flowered at slightly different times. The year we purchased them, they flowered late having been grown, presumably, under managed conditions to flower at a particular time when they would get people's attention in the garden centre. They did that, alright. Then last year, they flowered around 20 July initially. They are nearly two weeks later this year, but then the growing conditions may be trickier up here, plus they endured being transplanted into the garden in May. So that might not have been the happiest experience for them.

The weather was fine this morning, so I put the washing out (despite dire warnings in the online forecast) before we drove to Fraser Brothers to look at wood for raised beds, and then on to the Storehouse where we had lunch and a bit of a shop in their farm shop (which I pronounced rather nice). Consequently, I came back to soggy washing, although it hadn't by that stage rained particularly hard in Tain. It made up for it later....

I went for a soggy swim at Shandwick. Obviously, being in the sea makes no difference if it's raining, but the getting in and getting out experiences are a bit trickier in the rain. It was very bumpy with good waves to bounce up and down in. Lots of fun.

I concluded the activities for the day by wrestling four bin bags from the garage into the brown bins which are due to be collected tomorrow. Two into ours; two into our neighbour's. Only four more to go, and then we will have caught up with the accumulated garden garbage....

Aside from the sunshine this morning, today has felt very autumnal. Even late autumnal. Luckily the sun is due to be back tomorrow. That's a relief for my new plants.

I'm missing book group today. I'm not especially happy about that but at least I had a joyful and hilarious swim to make up for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.